Crabby Cake

Just the way I see things…

Betty Crocker GF Cookies

with one comment

Last night I made gluten free cookies.

Not from scratch, I’m not that brave yet.. and spending $$ on flours and gums isn’t in my budget the first half of the month.

More and more companies are making gluten free products. I had seen a box of cookie mix months ago and thought it was great to see it at a mainstream place such as Fred Meyer. Who knew I might later be seeking it out..

I bought a box of the cookie mix from Betty Crocker. There was a side panel talking about how they have people who work for them that have recently found out they or one of their children have found out they had Celiac Disease. They made the mixes because life is just to great to not have the chance to celebrate the good times without a cookie after a baseball game or a year in life without cake.  (yea, totally threw the box away, but there message was good, I swear) Or the story is right here. The mixes are made in a gluten free facility.

So. I have to say, mixing the butter into the mix took a lot of elbow grease!  (I’m realizing I will need to buy a Kitchen Aid if I want to bake more GF stuff from stratch.) As with any type of commercial chocolate chip cookies, it needs more chocolate chips!

(I need to start taking more pictures of my food! Or stuff I make, find or try.)

I baked up larger cookies, using a tablespoon. It made up 24 cookies, I baked up 22. The dough was great! It tasted great on it’s own and would be super awesome mixed in with some vanilla ice cream!

They were a little more crumbly than a regular cookie. But, looked just as tasty. But, they had a weird after taste. They also left a weird dried out feeling in my mouth. Coffee went well with them, a glass of chocolate almond milk would go nicely with them. Water? Not so much.

I’ve had better gluten free chocolate chip cookies, ones made at the co-op and ones made from bakeries around town. But, if you were in a pinch and wanted cookies now.. or needed some cookies for a friend that was coming over that couldn’t have gluten.. or needed a cookie dough fix.. this works. It must, I made them last night and Kevin and I ate them up. And, I’m a total adult and ate the last 4 for breakfast.

Written by crabbycake

March 5, 2010 at 10:46 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thanks for that

    Gourmet Food

    March 10, 2010 at 7:26 am


Leave a Reply

